A space fan’s guide to New York Comic Con 2021

0

This year’s New York Comic Con is a little different. Unlike last year, when the event was completely virtual, this year’s event is a temporary step towards restoring normalcy. There are still virtual events – it’ll likely be a permanent addition to conventions – but this year the annual sci-fi convention in-person panels – and that’s great.

That said, strict procedures will be put in place. To enter, proof of vaccination is required for anyone over the age of 12 and anyone under that age must provide proof of a negative COVID-19 test. There will likely be plastic covers in the photo booths as well, so be prepared. And it goes without saying that a mask must be worn at all times. You can read more about health and safety policies here.

To make sure you didn’t miss a thing, we scanned the schedule, analyzed the sensor readings, and pulled out the must-see panels that you should make your top priority. The events will also be broadcast live on NYCC’s YouTube channel.

Related: Stunning space cosplay photos from New York Comic Con 2019

Thursday October 7

Journey into the world of Star Trek
Behind the scenes of the new official magazine “Star Trek”, plus an appearance by Una McCormack to talk about her new book “The Autobiography of Mr Spock”.
Time: 10:00 a.m. EDT (2:00 p.m. GMT)
Place: virtual programming only

Spotlight on William Shatner
The actor may or may not be talking about his plans for space travel with Blue Origin, but he will almost certainly be talking about his new album.
Time: 11:00 a.m. EDT (4:00 p.m. GMT)
Place: Main stage 1D, Javits Center

Among the stars
Take a look at the original six-part Disney + series following NASA astronaut Captain Chris Cassidy for one final Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer repair mission that aims to reveal the origins of the universe.
Time: 12:45 p.m. EDT (4:45 p.m. GMT)
Place: Room 411 for virtual projection, Javits Center

Battlestar Galactica retrospective
Join Edward James Olmos (Commander William Adama) and Mary McDonnell (President Laura Roslin) live on stage as they recount their journey aboard the Battlestar Galactica and answer questions from fans.
Time: 3:30 p.m. EDT (7:30 p.m. GMT)
Place: Main stage 1D, Javits Center

The future of Blade Runner: Black Lotus
The producers and directors of “Blade Runner: Black Lotus” explore the complex approach to writing in a dystopian theme with futurist Maurice Conti, who shares his take on whether or not we are destined for this particular result. .
Time: 6:45 p.m. EDT (10:45 p.m. GMT)
Place: Room 411 for virtual projection, Javits Center
Related: Watch the first trailer for “Blade Runner: Black Lotus”

It will be wonderful to see everyone’s cosplay again, something that just couldn’t be replaced last year. (Image credit: Scott Snowden / Space.com)

Friday October 8

An hour with Adam Savage
The Mythbusters host and builder extraordinary loves an audience, so give them a great reception at home and enjoy the many entertaining tales he will no doubt share.
Time: 11:00 a.m. EDT (3:00 p.m. GMT)
Place: Empire Stage, Javits Center

Spotlight on Dee Bradley Baker
You may not know the face, but you almost certainly heard the voice. Well known characters include Daffy Duck in “Space Jam“, Klaus and others in “American Dad”, “Family Guy”, “Star Wars: The Bad Batch” and he will soon be heard as Murf in “Star Trek: Prodigy. “. “
Time: 12:00 p.m. EDT (4:00 p.m. GMT)
Place: Room 405, Center Javits

The extent
Cast and creators are coming together to give fans a first look at the highly anticipated sixth and final season of “The Expanse” on Amazon Prime Video.
Time: 12:45 p.m. EDT (4:45 p.m. GMT)
Place: Room 411 for virtual projection, Javits Center

NASA space technology for humans
Panelists will discuss the development of technologies that will support future human and robotic missions and will soon allow the first woman and person of color to set foot on the moon.
Time: 2:15 p.m. EDT (6:15 p.m. GMT)
Place: Room 406.1, Center Javits

Spotlight on George Takei
60 very entertaining minutes with the former star of “Star Trek” and legendary social media celebrity.
Time: 4:15 p.m. EDT (2015 GMT)
Place: Main Stage Room 1D, Javits Center

The Boys – A Retrospective Panel
Join Karen Fukuhara (Kimiko), Erin Moriarty (Annie), Jack Quaid (Hughie) and Antony Starr (Homelander) as they reflect on their favorite moments from the first two seasons of “The Boys”.
Time: 4:45 p.m. EDT (8:45 p.m. GMT)
Place: Empire Stage, Javits Center

Ghostbusters: the afterlife
Director Jason Reitman and producer Ivan Reitman will be joined by part of the cast of “Ghostbusters: Afterlife” for an in-depth conversation, as well as new footage from the film.
Time: 6:30 p.m. EDT (10:30 p.m. GMT)
Place: Empire Stage, Javits Center

Despite a drop in the number of tickets sold this year, the atmosphere will undoubtedly be electric again. (Image credit: ReedPop)

Saturday October 9

Star Trek: Discovery
The cast and executive producers will meet live on stage to talk about the upcoming fourth season of “Star Trek: Discovery” and we’ll likely get to see a new trailer.
Time: 12:45 p.m. EDT (4:45 p.m. GMT)
Place: Empire Stage, Javits Center

Related: “Star Trek: Discovery” Season 4 Teaser Looks Like Every Other Season

The Expanse – with Wes Chatham and Steven Strait
Join stars Wes Chatham (Amos Burton) and Steven Strait (Jim Holden) live on stage as they reflect on the series – both so far and ahead – and answer questions from fans.
Time: 2:30 p.m. EDT (6:15 p.m. GMT)
Place: Main Stage Room 1D, Javits Center

Science fiction
Astrophysicist Charles Liu (as seen on “StarTalk” with Neil deGrasse Tyson) will be joined by experts in science and pop culture as they break down the best movies of 2021.
Time: 4:15 p.m. EDT (2015 GMT)
Place: Room 406.1, Center Javits

Y: The last man
Join executive producer Eliza Clark for an advanced episode 7 screening and moderated discussion. Based on the best-selling comics by Brian K. Vaughan and Pia Guerra, this series takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where a cataclysmic event kills all mammals with a Y chromosome except a man and his pet monkey.
Time: 6:00 p.m. EDT (10:45 p.m. GMT)
Place: Empire Stage, Javits Center

Sunday October 10

Crunchyroll Industry Panel
Listen to all the latest and greatest manga and anime from Crunchyroll – one of the studios responsible for bringing us “Blade Runner: Black Lotus” – straight from the source.
Time: 11:00 a.m. EDT (3:00 p.m. GMT)
Place: Room 405, Center Javits

Star Trek: Prodigy – First screening and panel
After the screening of the first episode, the cast and producers will take the stage for a lively, in-person roundtable.
Time: 12:45 p.m. EDT (4:45 p.m. GMT)
Place: Empire Stage, Javits Center

Tips and tactics

While only half the usual number is allowed at the Javits Center this year, New York Comic Con will always prove to be grueling. However, there are no events planned anywhere other than the conference center, so thankfully that means there is no frantic rush from Madison Square Garden to the Hammerstein Ballroom and back to Javits. Here are some tips to help you get the most out of your Comic Con experience:

● Hand sanitizer: It’s essential these days, especially if you use New York City public transportation.

● Sharpies, Black and Silver: You might meet celebrities and industry icons, so be prepared before the chance to get their autographs slips away.

● Extra battery for your smartphone: You rely a lot on your smartphone – camera, calls, cards, social networks – and it will drain. You might even want to bring two extra batteries.

● The power of Twitter: News of a celebrity or a really cool cosplay travels like wildfire at Comic Con. By keeping a close eye on the #NYCC Twitter hashtag, you can increase your chances of finding celebrities as well as cool parties and amazing giveaways.

● Finally, wear comfortable shoes and bring both sunscreen and an umbrella, as well as sunglasses and a poster tube to safely store any artwork you tag.

Follow Scott Snowden on Twitter. Follow us on twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.



Source link

Share.

Leave A Reply